Skip Navigation
Print Share

National Philanthropy Day 2017

National Philanthropy Day Long Logo

National Philanthropy Day® (NPD) is celebrated by the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) and hundreds of non-profit and for-profit organizations throughout North America. On this special day, we recognize the great philanthropic contributions to the community of philanthropy and those active volunteers who devote their time to advance the efforts of various organizations.

The AFP SC, Piedmont Chapter celebrated the 2017 National Philanthropy Day on Wednesday, November 15 at the Embassy Suites on Verdae Boulevard in Greenville. During the 2017 luncheon, the AFP SC, Piedmont Chapter recognized philanthropists’ significant contributions to various organizations across our region. Our chapter honored four outstand philanthropists in the Upstate community - BMW Manufacturing, Corporate Philanthropist of the Year; Minor Shaw, Individual Philanthropist of the Year; Kelly Byers, Young Philanthropist of the Year; and Baxter Wynn, Volunteer Fundraiser of the Year. Organizations that make up our chapter also honored their own philanthropists of the year. Please click here to see a list of those honorees.



Congratulations to the AFP SC, Piedmont Chapter Honorees:

Corporate Philanthropist of the Year

NPD 2017 - BMW Manufacturing Photo

BMW Manufacturing

Individual Philanthropist of the Year

NPD 2017 - Minor Shaw Photo

Minor Shaw

Young Philanthropist of the Year

NPD 2017 - Kelly Byers Photo

Kelly Byers

Volunteer Fundraiser of the Year

NPD 2017 - Baxter Wynn Photo

Baxter Wynn


Thank you to our generous sponsors of the 
2017 National Philanthropy Day luncheon!


Clemson Forever (2017)  IPTAY (2017)



Hollingsworth Funds Peace Center
United Way of Greenville County AnMed Health Foundation



ETV Endowment
The Family Effect
Greenville Literacy Association
SC School for the Deaf and Blind Foundation
Southeastern Printing



Barnet Development Corporation
Greenville Tech Foundation
The Spartanburg County Foundation


A special thank you to SCETV for the video production.